Jon Richardson ‘A Little bit OCD’

Jon Richardson ‘A little bit OCD’

580855_4026563256751_1761896299_n

Comedian Jon Richardson with my son John filming for Channel 4.  ‘A Little bit OCD’  which aired July 2012.

The program aimed to discover if Jon has the disorder. He visited several sufferers, including John in the hope that he and viewers learn more about what it is to have OCD.

John took part, despite misgivings, in the hope that it would help to raise awareness, which we hope it did. It’s first airing netted an unexpectedly high 1.6 million viewers. Both John and the subject were treated with sensitivity by the production company and Jon Richardson, who spoke to him by phone after the show.

I think that John was very brave to do this, as he has hidden the condition for years. He is my hero.

This event and the feedback it created from other sufferers and their families inspired this blog to share my experiences of having a child with OCD. The idea came from thediaryofthegirlinthehat who reviewed the show on her blog. Thanks to her for that.

My hope is that this blog will be therapy for me and helpful to others in the same position.

September 2013. We just heard from the production company that the documentary has been nominated for an award from Mind.

Jon Richardson talks to John

Jon talks about John’s OCD

7 thoughts on “Jon Richardson ‘A Little bit OCD’

  1. Welcome!

    I look forward to reading about John’s journey. I really enjoyed the show.

    Bellsie

  2. Ah, I saw that programme – it was really really great to see people being so honest about OCD and it was so inspiring! I created my blog to help me through my problems too – it’s done wonders for me and I hope yours does the same for you!

  3. I hope your blogging experience helps you combat your sons struggles with OCD. I wish you the best of luck and I hope the stigma attached to OCD can be addressed 😀

    • Don’t worry, I’m new to blogging and I’m still feeling my way around the site and such. Everyone seems so helpful and nice so it’ll be no problem settling in 😀 Have fun with it 😀

  4. ocdtalk says:

    I look forward to following your blog. We can all learn from each other. There is so much hope for those with OCD. My son’s OCD was so bad he couldn’t even eat. He has since recovered and has just graduated university and has a wonderful life ahead of him. OCD, no matter how severe, is treatable!

    • That is a real comfort. My son is also often unable to eat and is underweight. He has sleep problems also. I used to feel so alone but this blog is a great comfort, and I hope it will be the same for others. Thanks for the comment. x

Leave a Reply

